2020. What. A. Year.

Welp here we are, at the end of the craziest year I have ever lived through. 2020 brought a lot of changes to all of us. Some we handled with dignity and grace and some we did not.

Some of us lost our jobs, some of us worked from home, some of us are essential employees and worked right through. Some of us attended school in person, but most of us attended classes via Zoom. Some of us experienced something new – binge watching shows whether via Netflix, Hulu, or Amazon Prime.

We learned to be internet savvy and do our shopping online vs standing in line, wearing a mask, outside a store waiting to be let in only to find no essential items on shelves.

Births and deaths, anniversaries, weddings, and graduations, were all celebrated remotely or in small groups. Drive-by beckoned a new definition and became the new norm for celebrating.

Depression and other mental health disorders came to the forefront. Our elders couldn’t be hugged or even visited, the infirmed suffered alone, grandchildren didn’t see grandparents, relationships suffered when families were forced to stay home together.

Most people heeded the warnings and didn’t travel. I am an essential employee and run a food pantry, so my hours and duties increased and the pandemic took it’s toll on me. I altered my normal travel plans and traveled to see family after w/orking 6 months with no break. Two months later I couldn’t stand it any longer and I ran away for a short trip to the beach. I felt better after each trip. Now, 4 weeks later I have done it again…I.hear the 3′ ft waves and the rain outside my window as I type this sentence.

I know when I return in three days life will smack me in the face, work will be a reality again, and again I will be exhausted in a month. But for now, now I am enjoying the Christmas lights in the yards surrounding my hotel, the ocean waves, and yes even the rain.

The year of the pandemic, COVID-19, lockdown year, or whatever nickname you gave it has been a long one and I am very thankful to have survived and for it to be almost over! I am.ready to see what 2021 brings I do hope it’s better for each of us!

How have you survived 2020? Let me know!

Leave a comment