me, not ‘everyone’

It seems that everyone writes blog and social media posts about the closing of a year and then makes resolutions for the new year. I even had one formulating in my brain for several days and since I never ‘put pen to paper’ I guess it wasn’t meant to be.

So, now I guess I too am ‘everyone’. My only resolution….er goal…. though is to be a better me, the best me I can be.

2017 was a year of …. well, it was an eventful year let’s say.  I started the new year not exactly knowing who I was, and I finished the year finding out that I was (almost) exactly who I thought I was; I started the year grieving, and finished the year with DNA results. I started the year with

I spent parts of the year with family, and parts of the year with friends. I met new people, put together a team of doctors, set goals, met goals, started a healthful lifestyle, learned to push myself, learned to not be on the go all the time. Learned better the rules of hockey, watched only one football game, and learned that I could walk 4 miles on a consistent basis.  I went back to college, I have learned what APA style is (I don’t like it, I like informal writing),  I met some goals, and I fell short on some goals.  I hate to say this, but I don’t even know if I succeeded in any resolutions- or if I made any last year.

So, this year – only goals, no resolutions.  Yes, they mean nearly the same thing, but why do I have to continue to be ‘everybody’ ? I want …. I need…. to be *me*.

I will make some general goals, some more specific goals.
General goal:   Write more
Specific goal:   Blog one time a week
General goal:   Get fit – get more healthy -lose the last 10 lbs.
Specific goal:   Walk atleast 4x a week – follow my eating regimen – it’ll happen
General goal:   Get back to photography
Specific goal:   Throw cameras in the car atleast 2x a week; Work on my DOOR ESSAY; Start a NEW Essay  (any ideas??)
General goal:   Find Passion
Specific Goal:  Be passionate in everything I do.
Specific Goals already accomplished in day 2 of the new year:  Joined two writing groups on FB, and joined a couple varying photography challenges on FB as well. Went to the gym today since it is too cold to walk outside, cooked a healthful meal at home this evening.

Most importantly – I will have fun, be me, and strive to be a BETTER me in 2018.  I will strive to focus on the positive, the good, not the negative and bad. I will spend more time with family, and make even more time for friends, all while balancing those with college classes, and I will strive to be the best ME I can be.  The best Mom, Gamma/Ga/GaGa, girlfriend, sister, daughter, friend, employee, manager, mentor, and inspiration that I can be.

 

 

 

Leave a comment